Day Four:

My grandfather used to lecture me about how late I would sleep in and he would always say “the early bird gets the worm” and finally his word came true. This morning I got out of bed with no problems and I felt the struggles of the first three days paying off. That is until I opened the front door to see that it was cold and wet and the sidewalk was littered with little lost worms.

I am from Oregon so running in the rain isn’t a problem, in fact I enjoy running in the rain so waking up that weather was a pleasant surprise. But being from Oregon and having a hippy mom means that I have been trained to stop and pick up every single worm I see laying on the sidewalk and moving them to the grass. Today’s run wasn’t so much exercise as it was a mission to save ALL THE WORMS.

People kept looking at me like I was insane; run, run, run, stop pick up a worm, run some more.

I was so busy picking up worms that I didn’t even realize that I had successfully gotten up and started my day without feeling like I had been hit by a truck. When I finally got back to my house I was so proud of myself for being a relatively successful grown up who had just spent the last hour saving worms all around her neighborhood.

Not all heroes wear capes.

worm on sidewalk.jpg
A picture of one of the many lives I saved before most of you had finished your morning coffee